2017 Carl Sandburg Literary Awards

Wednesday, October 11, 2017
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
The Forum at UIC
725 W. Roosevelt Rd.
Chicago, IL 60602
United States

Margaret Atwood and Dave Eggers Honored with Chicago Public Library Foundation and Chicago Public Library’s Carl Sandburg Literary Award

The Carl Sandburg Literary Awards Dinner provides funds to support key learning initiatives of Chicago Public Library. The event has raised more than $1.5 million for innovative services for children, adults and families at the library.

We’re proud to announce that the 2017 Carl Sandburg Literary Awards will be presented to best-selling authors Margaret Atwood (“The Handmaid’s Tale,” “MaddAddam” trilogy, “The Blind Assassin”) and Dave Eggers (”A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius”, “Zeitoun,” “The Circle.”)

The two critically hailed authors will be celebrated at the Carl Sandburg Literary Awards Dinner Wednesday, Oct. 11, 2017, beginning at 6 p.m., at The Forum (725 W. Roosevelt Road) on the campus of the Universityof Illinois at Chicago.

In keeping with the event’s tradition, one of 80 celebrated writers with ties to Chicago will be seated at each table, giving each attendee the opportunity to discuss the author’s work and creative process over dinner.

Receiving the 21st Century Award for outstanding recent achievement will be Natalie Y. Moore, who has worked at WBEZ since 2007, covering segregation and inequality. She is the author of several books, including “The South Side: A Portrait of Chicago and American Segregation,” winner of the 2016 Chicago Review of Books award for nonfiction and a Buzzfeed best nonfiction book of 2016. This year’s Sandburg Dinner co-chairs are Jacqueline Griesdorn and Graham C. Grady, a partner at the Taft law firm.

Leading the producing team is Foundation Director Donna La Pietra and Bill Kurtis has serves as the event host. The evening’s highlight is an intimate onstage conversation between Atwood and Eggers moderated by author and National Public Radio host Scott Simon.

Past winners of the Carl Sandburg Literary Award are Erik Larson, Scott Turow, Alice Walker, Stephen Sondheim, Doris Kearns Goodwin, Mavis Staples, Larry McMurtry, Michael Lewis, Isabel Allende, Don DeLillo, Walter Isaacson, Roger Ebert, Toni Morrison, David McCullough, Robert Caro, Joyce Carol Oates, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Kurt Vonnegut, John Updike, David Mamet, Nikki Giovanni, Tom Wolfe and Salman Rushdie.

We're sorry, the deadline for buying tickets for this event has passed.